Bellaire City Council: A Runoff Election on December 14, 2019

Bellaire Voters – A Runoff Election in December!

UPDATE 12/14/2019:  The results of the Bellaire Runoff Election are in.  The new City Council members are Nathan Wesely for Position 4 and Jim Hotze for Position 6. 

Two of the four Bellaire races are final, no runoff necessary.  Andrew Friedberg will remain mayor, and Catherine Lewis will replace Trisha Pollard on City Council.

A runoff election for Bellaire City Council will be held on Saturday, December 14, 2019, between Nathan Wesely and Winfred Frazier for position 4, and Jim Hotze and David Montague for position 6.

Early voting for the runoff will be held from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Nov. 27, then 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Dec. 2-7, from 1 p.m. to 6 p.m. on Dec. 8 and from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Dec. 9-10.

Early voting locations in the Bellaire area:

  •   HCC West Loop South
    5601 West Loop South
    Houston, TX 77081
    Status last updated: Nov 27, 2019 7:00:00 AM
  •   Bayland Park Community Center
    6400 Bissonnet Street
    Houston, TX 77074
    Status last updated: Nov 27, 2019 7:00:00 AM
  •   Harris County Public Health
    2223 West Loop South Freeway
    Houston, TX 77027
    Status last updated: Nov 27, 2019 7:00:00 AM

Election Day polling centers in the Bellaire area are:

  1. ChristChurch Presbyterian
    5001 Bellaire Boulevard
    Bellaire, TX 77401
    Faith American Lutheran Church
  2. 4600 Bellaire Boulevard
    Bellaire, TX 77401-4296
    Horn Elementary School
  3. 4530 Holly Street
    Bellaire, TX 77401
    Pin Oak Middle School
  4. 4601 Glenmont Street
    Houston, TX 77401
  5. HCC West Loop South
    5601 West Loop South
    Houston, TX 77081
  6. Burnett Bayland Community Center
    6000 Chimney Rock Drive
    Houston, TX 77081-4001
    Sylvan Rodriguez Jr Elementary School
  7. 5858 Chimney Rock Road
    Houston, TX 77081-2715

Please check with for polling locations.

The final vote count is 3,502 ballots out of 12,481 voters

Friedberg 2409 / Riquelmy 898 
Lewis 1881 / Pollard 1360 
Wesely 1411 / Frazier 1158 / Newman 637 
Hotze 1495 / Montague 1311 / Bowers 363

Visit HarrisVotes for all polling places on Election Day

A Bellaire Candidates Forum was held on Tuesday, October 15, 2019, from 6 to 9 PM at the Bellaire Civic Center, 7008 South Rice Avenue 

Find a link to the Bellaire Facebook video here.  The audio improves about  or 10 minutes into the meeting:

Voters were invited to attend a nonpartisan Forum introducing the candidates for City of Bellaire. 

Submit Questions for Candidates:

Voters are invited and encouraged to submit suggestions for topics or questions they would like to see covered by the moderators at the Forum. Please send suggestions to:

Three City Council seats and that of Mayor will be on the ballot this Fall.  Pat McLaughlan is term limited and cannot run for office this election, seats held by Trisha Pollard, David Montague, and Andrew Friedberg are up as well.  We have contested races for every seat.  The City election will be held on November 5, 2019.

  • Position 2 candidates:  Catherine Lewis and Trisha Pollard
  • Position 4 candidates: Nathan Weseley, Kevin Newman, and Winfred Frazier
  • Position 6 candidates: Keith Evans Bowers, Jim Hotze, and David Montague
  • Running for Mayor: Robert Riquelmy and Andrew Friedberg